Cape Enrage has a rich and unique history. This special little island has seen a lot of changes over the past 170 years; many of these changes have occurred in the past 25 years since the site has been repurposed as a historical sight.
There have been three lighthouses over the past 180 years. The first was built in 1838 and was fully operational by 1840. The second was built in 1869 after the first was deemed worn out in 1868. The original lighthouse was converted into a temporary keeper's residence. The third lighthouse, built in 1904, remains standing. It was the first square lighthouse in the province and is New Brunswick's oldest lighthouse.
Cape Enrage is aptly named as it is prone to strong winds and generally unpredictable weather. The first lighthouse keeper, Keeper Munson, and his family, lived in the original lighthouse. During the early years, several temporary homes were built for keepers, but they all had to be replaced after being damaged. The first permanent residence was built in 1874. This was replaced by the duplex in 1952, which remains standing.
In 1988, the lighthouse was automated and there was no longer a need for a lighthouse keepers. The Keepers House was no longer needed and was to be torn down. Dennison Tate, son of a former lighthouse keeper and a teacher at Harrison Trimble High School, with several of his students began a campaign in 1992 to save what has become known as the Cape House. They devised a plan for a student-run summer adventure program to generate funds to save and restore the property. To this day, the site hosts adventures to maintain the site for years to come.
Behind the scenes, we have a power team ready to face the season’s many demanding needs and engage with guests daily. Each member brings to the team a wealth of knowledge and expertise that will ensure you have a smooth and pleasant experience.
Fundy’s Cape Enrage continues to offer its exciting Adventure opportunities. Reservations can be made to take part in the Rappelling and Ziplining Adventures. Fundy’s Cape Enrage will be open from 9-6, seven days a week. The Cape House Restaurant is open daily.
Image by Janet Wallace.